• EUR
  • Language
  • Login
  • My Shortlist (0)
  • My Cart (0)
Amend Dates

West Coast House

Achill Island, Mayo, F28 FA07

1km from Keel

Meet your host…

Mrs Teresa McNamara

J.J. & I have been running West Coast House B & B since 1988. We enjoy interacting with our guests, advising them on what they can do, where they can walk and pointing out to them what they must see on lovely Achill Island. We have a superb location with panoramic views, looking down on the picturesque village of Dooagh and up at Croghan Mountain and out to the Atlantic Ocean. Our guests relax and really enjoy having a freshly cooked breakfast looking out at this million dollar view.

School Road
Achill Island
F28 FA07

An Achill Island getaway with stunning Atlantic views, guests will adore the tranquil setting of West Coast House, County Mayo. On an elevated site overlooking the island’s most westerly village, Dooagh, the house is surrounded by rugged landscape - from the ocean panoramas to the magnificent Croaghaun Mountain. Recommended by Le Guide du Routard and Frommer’s travel guide, guests can unwind in orthopaedic beds,  enjoy delicious breakfasts and stroll idyllic beaches. Host Teresa McNamara happily advises guests on which local sights to visit. Just 1km from Keel and its array of fun water sports, visitors will have an enjoyable stay.

How to get here

 From Castlebar  take the R311 to Newport ,then the  N59 from Newport to Mulranny  and R319 from Mulranny to Keel, West Coast house  is 3km past Keel, then  turn right forWest Coast House.Follow the Wild Atlantic Way to Achill 

Sat Nav: Lat (53.976125) - Long (-10.113190)

  • Adventure Seekers
  • Ancestry
  • Walkers


  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Cycling
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet Access
  • Irish Spoken
  • No Smoking House
  • Private Car Park
  • Tea In Bedrooms
  • TV in Bedroom
  • Walking
  • Wi-Fi

Customer Reviews

Below Average
Very Good
Very Poor

Overall Score



Sue Boyle

04 Jun 2018 
Review Score: 7/10

We have stayed here several times and have always found it clean, comfortable and friendly with a good breakfast. The views are stunning and the location is quiet. What more could we want?

Anne Delaroche

22 May 2018 
Review Score: 1/10

Extremely and very unusually desapointing for an Irish B&B : we keep on going to Ireland for more than 30 years and always enjoy our B&Bs because they are perfectly clean, tidy and confortable. It was absolutly not the case at West Coast House. The room was very tiny, not very clean (dirty kleenex by the bed, etc), antique WC leaking, the very old bedding derserved to be sent directly to a dump, the bed was small. We had to leave around 7h45 and this timing was tyoo early to get any breakfast. the price for this poor stay has been paid cash 80€. Worst and most expensive B&B we ever had the misfortune to come across.

Host's Reply:
Hi Anne I am very upset that you found West Coast house so disappointing . I really wish you had said it to me while you were there I had a bigger room at the back of the house which i could have given you as it was empty but you choose the room with the view .I clean the rooms daily and am surprised that you found it not to your expectations . There is no evidence of the leaking W C . I really do wish you had mentioned all this to me while you were there ..I could have given you a cheaper rate if you were not satisfied . I would like to refund you some of the charge if you feel that disappointed .I can recall that I gave you sandwiches instead of breakfast and I think we both agreed that that was ok at the time You were both happy with this as you could have the tea /coffee in the room . I am now sorry that I did not get the breakfast for you at 7.30 a.m and I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I am very dissappointed as well . I really feel bad that you left us without expressing this to me .i was up and working in the kitchen when you departed .What more can I say only that I am very sorry and I will do my best so that nobody has an experience like this again at West Coast House and if I can do anything to compensate you i would like to do that and please let me know . Thank you Teresa

Gilles Hanton and Martine Desmedt

19 Sep 2017 
Review Score: 7/10

La chambre était petite, SdB minuscule, mais nous avions une jolie vue sur le paysage et la mer. Les propriétaires étaient assez serviables mais strictes et même rigides. Nous avons apprécié qu’il y ait une couverture de réserve à disposition. Gîte fort éloigné du Pub et du Restaurant. Voiture indispensable. Excellent PDJ avec saumon.


18 Aug 2017 
Review Score: 7/10

La vue depuis la chambre est incroyable (plusieurs chambres côté Vue mais pas toutes). La chambre est confortable mais pas tres grande, avec une deco un peu "vintage"... Breakfast copieux et tres bon. Une bonne adresse sur l'île d'Achille.

Helen & Jaap

05 Jun 2017 
Review Score: 9/10

Friendly welcome and delicious breakfast. Stunning view from the house.